Google Translate Widget by Infofru

Author Site Reviewresults

preview 21731xhX6cH2qnh 0000

Innovative Management Award (IMA)


Whereas the AAPAM Gold Medal is an award for Individual achievement, the Innovative Management Award is to recognize organizational/institutional achievement. It is intended to encourage creative managerial initiatives in Public Administration and Management in Africa. Entries’ are judged by a jury on five categories: Innovation, Relevance, Significance, Sustainability and Replication. 

It is awarded annually and usually currently supported by willing donors, organizations and individuals: 
Innovative Management Award Past Winners (Gold Medal) 
  • Zambia - Ministry of Chiefs and Traditional Affairs' (MOCTA), “Ending Child Marriage”, 2019. 
  • Egypt – Ministry of Planning, Monitoring and Administrative Reform, “Egyptian Birth and Death Registration System (EBDRS)”, (2018). 
  • Rwanda – Judiciary of Rwanda, ‘Fostering Justice Delivery at Local Level in Rwanda’, (2017). 
  • Kenya – Ministry of State for Defence, “Diesel Powered DEFTEC Made Mobile Field Kitchen (DMMFK)”, (2012). 
  • South Africa- Independent Electoral Commission (IEC), "Result Slip Scanning Project" (2011). 
  • Tanzania- Tanzania Revenue Authority, Planning and Modernization Programme Unit, “Integration of TRA Operations”, (2010). 
  • Rwanda- Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration, National Security Services, “Online Visa Entry”, (2009). 
  • Tanzania- Tanzania Investment Centre, -“Investment Document, Facilitation Records Management Systems”, (2008). 
  • South Africa -South African Police Service- “Community Service Centre”, (2007).

Promotion of Innovation Management Award

The African Association for Public Administration and Management (AAPAM) is delighted to invite you to promote innovation in the public service in your country through its Innovative Management Awards (IMA) programme. AAPAM therefore shares with all its members and stakeholders the winning innovations.

AAPAM launched the IMA programme in 2005 to recognize creativity in enhancing service delivery in the public service. Innovating is the ultimate backbone of sustainable development and growth in Africa. The IMA is a unique as it offers a continental platform to recognize home-grown solutions to challenges facing Africa.

The objectives of the Innovative Management Award include:

  •   Recognition and publicity of innovations in the public sector which are worthy of emulation.
  •   Enhancement of the image of the public sector in Africa.
  •   Promotion of innovation in the public sector by encouraging and recognizing organizations and people for creative and effective ways of solving specific problems of administration and management.
  •   Facilitating the transfer of innovations and best practices as a way of improving the quality of Public Administration and Management in Africa.

 Since its launch, the programme has received over 100 public sector innovations from ministries, institutions and organizations across Africa, AAPAM has similarly awarded  outstanding innovations at the annual Roundtable Conferences. The winners are selected based on the principles of innovativeness, relevance, significance and reliability.

We are proud to further share and elevate winning submissions to the continental and global arena for replication by African governments in the spirit of knowledge sharing and promoting excellence as a strategy to transform public administration.


Gold Medal


The AAPAM Gold Medal Award marks the exceptional achievement of an individual who has shown distinctive leadership or has made a significant contribution to the advancement of excellence in public administration and management in Africa. Awarded after every three years, the AAPAM Gold Medal is the highest honour accorded by AAPAM to outstanding public service. 

Gold Award


Gold Medal Past Winners 
  • Dr. Najat Zarrouk (Kingdom of Morocco), in 2018 
  • Amb. Francis Muthaura (Kenya), in 2015 
  • Professor Malcolm Wallis (South Africa), in 2011 
  • Professor Gelase Rwabyo Mutahaba (Tanzania), in 2009 
  • Professor Adebayo Adedeji (Nigeria), in 2007